OSGS Spring Meeting (North) at Royal Liverpool Golf Club on Friday 12 April 2019

OSGS Spring Meeting (North) at Royal Liverpool Golf Club on Friday 12 April 2019

Twenty Old Salopians and two guests went to RLGC on Friday 12 April on a chilly and sunny day to get the OSGS Golf season underway in the North. We were fortunate that the wind that can really blow here was but a light breeze, which helped the team of OSGS golfers, put together some reasonable scores for the start of the season.  Following coffee and some bacon rolls people went out in 3 balls to tackle this famous Open Championship Links. 

The RLGC is celebrating it’s 150thBirthday later in the year with numerous celebrations. This Links was the scene of Rory Mcllroy’s Open Championship victory in 2014. The Walker Cup between the USA & Great Britain & Ireland is due to be hosted by the RLGC in September layer this year so preparations are well under way with getting the course ready for this major event in the Amateur Golfing Calendar. The below photograph shows Rob Ainscow playing the 18thHole being watched by Andrew Saunders.

Post the Golf everyone sat down to a Ham & Eggs High Tea in the clubhouse dinning-room on the first floor overlooking the Links. Prizes for the golf played were awarded as follows:

Nearest The Pin in 3 shots on the Par 5 3rdHole         – Mike Thelwall-Jones

Nearest the Pin on the 13thHole                                      – Richard Hanson

Longest Drive on the 15thHole                                         – Frank Higham

Individual Stableford Competiton Handicaps of 11 and Below

1st Place       – 33 Points    back 9 of 15 Points             – Charles Legge (Guest of Giles Cooper)

2nd Place      – 33 Points    back 9 of 14 Points- John Mills (Guest of Jonathan Perkins)

3rd Place       – 32 Points    Charles Hill

Individual Stableford Competition Handicaps of 12 and above

1st Place       – 29 Points    Simon Mellard

2nd Place      – 27 Points    Sean Duncan

3rdPlace=      – 26 Points    Rob Ainscow, James Lowes & Jonathan Perkins

The following are pictured in the photograph on the stairs of the clubhouse L to R from the Back: Chris Dickson, Simon Mellard, Stefan Hindmarsh, Tim Dakin, Rob Ainscow, Frank Higham, John MIlls, Richard Hanson, James Lowes, Richard Holt, Mike Thelwall-Jones, Michael Moore, Michael Brabner, Robert Lanyon, Charles Hill, Charles Legge, Jonathan Mitchell, David Schofield, Andrew Saunders, Jonathan Perkins & Giles Cooper.

All those who played are particularly grateful to all the RLGC Members who played, and even those who were unable to play on this occasion, as their attendance / support really helps make the day in terms of them hosting us.

Next year this Fixture will be played on Friday 17 April 2020, which is just after Easter.